Your browser does not support SVG

Free the rivers!

For the common Nose, salmon and co..

The Swiss rivers are among the world’s most obstructed waters. Over 100’000 dams and small barriers prevent fish from migrating to their spawning grounds. With the project Fluss frei! (Free the rivers!)  Aqua Viva wants to free our watercourses from unnecessary obstacles. So that rivers can develop dynamically again and fish can migrate unhindered.

Scroll Down

A country full of obstacles

In the past, the Swiss rivers were extensively straightened. In order to secure these unnatural river courses, small barriers had to be installed. On average, such an obstacle is found in the river every 650 meters. Although they look harmless, they are insurmountable for many fish.

Fish must migrate

Fish migrate to search for food, to reproduce or to seek shelter. If their path is blocked by obstacles, migratory fish such as eels, salmon or the common nose suffer in particular. Their populations have declined sharply in recent decades – in the case of Rhine salmon to the point of extinction.

Dam removals are the best solution

Many obstacles are only relics from the last century. Today they have neither an economic value nor are they necessary for flood protection. We can remove them without disadvantages and give our fish back a piece of quality of life.

Living rivers

The dismantling of weirs and barriers creates connected and dynamic habitats. Numerous animal and plant species benefit from this, as do we humans. Living and diverse bodies of water provide clean drinking water, protect against flooding and are valuable adventure and recreation areas.

Give us your voice!

There are also obstacles in the watercourses of your canton that we no longer need. With your help, we will work with the cantonal government to get them to dismantle local your fish barriers. The common nose, salmon and co. will thank you!

About us

Aqua Viva is dedicated exclusively to the subject of water so that we can look forward to living streams, rivers and lakes in Switzerland in the future. For 60 years, all our resources have flowed into the protection and revitalization of native water habitats.

Together with our partners, we have already identified many unnecessary obstacles in the watercourses of the cantons of Zurich and Aargau. Some of them will be removed as part of the project. However, the responsibility for dismantling them lies with the cantons and municipalities. We pass on our experience and knowledge to them. It will then be up to them whether our watercourses will once again become attractive habitats for the common nose, salmon and the like.

Project partners

Contact us

Christian Hossli
Project lead “Free the rivers!”
Christian.hossli@aquaviva.ch
+41 052 625 26 67

Follow us on Social Media!


© 2020 Fluss frei!

This microsite is part of the project “Free the rivers!” by Aqua Viva. Impressum

Your browser does not support SVG

Libérez les rivières!

Pour les hotus, les saumons et tous les autres poissons.

Aucun pays au monde n’a autant de béton dans ses rivières que la Suisse. Plus de 100 000 seuils et déversoirs empêchent les poissons de migrer vers leurs frayères. Avec le projet « Fluss frei! » (Libérez les rivières!), Aqua Viva veut libérer nos eaux des obstacles inutiles. Pour que les rivières puissent à nouveau se développer dynamiquement et que les poissons puissent migrer librement.

défilez vers le bas

UN PAYS PLEIN D'OBSTACLES

Dans le passé, les rivières Suisses ont été trop souvent redressées artificiellement. Pour sécuriser ces cours d’eau artificiels, il a fallu installer des seuils. Ces obstacles se trouvent en moyenne tous les 650 mètres dans les rivières. Bien qu’ils semblent innocents, ils agissent comme un mur infranchissable pour les poissons migrateurs.

LES POISSONS DOIVENT MIGRER!

Les poissons migrent à la recherche de nourriture, d’abri ou se reproduire. Si leur chemin est bloqué par des obstacles, les poissons migrateurs comme l’anguille, le saumon ou le hotu en souffrent. Au cours des dernières décennies, leurs stocks ont fortement diminué – dans le cas du saumon du Rhin, jusqu’à l’extinction.

LA DÉCONSTRUCTION EST LA MEILLEURE SOLUTION!

Beaucoup de ces seuils ne sont que des reliques du siècle dernier. Aujourd’hui, ils n’ont plus aucune valeur économique et ne sont plus nécessaires à la protection contre les inondations. Nous pouvons les enlever sans inconvénients et améliorer la qualité de vie de nos poissons.

RIVIÈRES VIVANTES

Le démantèlement des déversoirs et des seuils crée des habitats en réseau et dynamiques. De nombreuses espèces animales et végétales en bénéficient, tout comme nous, les humains. Des cours d’eau vivants et diversifiés fournissent de l’eau potable, protègent des inondations et sont de précieuses zones de loisirs.

DONNEZ-NOUS VOTRE VOIX!

Il y a aussi des seuils dans les cours d’eau de votre canton dont nous n’avons plus besoin. Avec votre aide, nous travaillerons avec le gouvernement cantonal pour aider à les déconstruire. Hotu, saumon et tous les autres poissons vous en remercieront!

À PROPOS

Aqua Viva se dévoue exclusivement au thème de l’eau afin que nous puissions redonner aux lacs, ruisseaux et rivières Suisse toute leur vie. Depuis 60 ans, toutes les ressources sont consacrées à la protection et à la revitalisation des habitats aquatiques indigènes.

En collaboration avec nos partenaires, nous avons déjà identifié de nombreux obstacles inutiles dans les cours d’eau des cantons de Zurich et d’Argovie. Certaines d’entre eux seront supprimés dans le cadre de ce projet. Toutefois, leur démantèlement relève de la responsabilité des cantons et des communes. Nous leur transmettons notre expérience et nos connaissances. Il leur appartiendra ensuite de décider si nos cours d’eau redeviendront des habitats attrayants pour le hotu, le saumon et tous les autres poissons.

PARTENAIRE DU PROJET

CONTACT

Christian Hossli
Gestionnaire de projet « Fluss frei! »
christian.hossli@aquaviva.ch
+41 (0)52 625 26 67

SUIVEZ-NOUS SUR LES RÉSEAUX SOCIAUX!


© 2020 Fluss frei!

Ce microsite fait partie du projet “Libérons les rivières!” d'Aqua Viva. A propos.