Your browser does not support SVG

Free the rivers!

For the common Nose, salmon and co..

The Swiss rivers are among the world’s most obstructed waters. Over 100’000 dams and small barriers prevent fish from migrating to their spawning grounds. With the project Fluss frei! (Free the rivers!)  Aqua Viva wants to free our watercourses from unnecessary obstacles. So that rivers can develop dynamically again and fish can migrate unhindered.

Scroll Down

A country full of obstacles

In the past, the Swiss rivers were extensively straightened. In order to secure these unnatural river courses, small barriers had to be installed. On average, such an obstacle is found in the river every 650 meters. Although they look harmless, they are insurmountable for many fish.

Fish must migrate

Fish migrate to search for food, to reproduce or to seek shelter. If their path is blocked by obstacles, migratory fish such as eels, salmon or the common nose suffer in particular. Their populations have declined sharply in recent decades – in the case of Rhine salmon to the point of extinction.

Dam removals are the best solution

Many obstacles are only relics from the last century. Today they have neither an economic value nor are they necessary for flood protection. We can remove them without disadvantages and give our fish back a piece of quality of life.

Living rivers

The dismantling of weirs and barriers creates connected and dynamic habitats. Numerous animal and plant species benefit from this, as do we humans. Living and diverse bodies of water provide clean drinking water, protect against flooding and are valuable adventure and recreation areas.

Give us your voice!

There are also obstacles in the watercourses of your canton that we no longer need. With your help, we will work with the cantonal government to get them to dismantle local your fish barriers. The common nose, salmon and co. will thank you!

About us

Aqua Viva is dedicated exclusively to the subject of water so that we can look forward to living streams, rivers and lakes in Switzerland in the future. For 60 years, all our resources have flowed into the protection and revitalization of native water habitats.

Together with our partners, we have already identified many unnecessary obstacles in the watercourses of the cantons of Zurich and Aargau. Some of them will be removed as part of the project. However, the responsibility for dismantling them lies with the cantons and municipalities. We pass on our experience and knowledge to them. It will then be up to them whether our watercourses will once again become attractive habitats for the common nose, salmon and the like.

Project partners

Contact us

Christian Hossli
Project lead “Free the rivers!”
Christian.hossli@aquaviva.ch
+41 052 625 26 67

Follow us on Social Media!


© 2020 Fluss frei!

This microsite is part of the project “Free the rivers!” by Aqua Viva. Impressum

Your browser does not support SVG

FLUSS FREI!

FÜR NASE, LACHS UND CO..

Die Schweizer Flüsse sind die am stärksten verbauten Gewässer der Welt. Über 100´000 Schwellen und Wehre hindern Fische an der Wanderung zu ihren Laichgebieten. Mit dem Projekt Fluss frei! will Aqua Viva unsere Fliessgewässer von unnötigen Hindernissen befreien. Damit sich Flüsse wieder dynamisch entwickeln und Fische ungehindert wandern können.

Scrolle nach Unten

EIN LAND VOLLER HINDERNISSE

In der Vergangenheit wurden die Schweizer Flüsse grossflächig begradigt. Zur Sicherung dieser unnatürlichen Flussläufe musste man Schwellen einbauen. Durchschnittlich alle 650 Meter steht ein solches Hindernis im Fluss. Sie sehen zwar harmlos aus, sind für viele Fische jedoch unüberwindbar.

FISCHE MÜSSEN WANDERN!

Fische wandern zur Nahrungssuche, zur Fortpflanzung oder um Schutz zu suchen. Ist ihnen der Weg durch Hindernisse versperrt, leiden insbesondere Wanderfische wie Aal, Lachs oder Nase. Ihre Bestände sind in den letzten Jahrzehnten stark zurückgegangen – im Falle des Rheinlachs bis hin zum Aussterben.

RÜCKBAU IST DIE BESTE LÖSUNG!

Viele Hindernisse sind lediglich Relikte aus dem vergangenen Jahrhundert. Sie haben heute weder einen ökonomischen Wert noch sind sie notwendig für den Hochwasserschutz. Wir können Sie ohne Nachteile entfernen und unseren Fischen ein Stück Lebensqualität zurückgeben.

LEBENDIGE FLÜSSE

Durch den Rückbau von Wehren und Schwellen entstehen vernetzte und dynamische Lebensräume. Davon profitieren zahlreiche Tier- und Pflanzenarten, aber auch wir Menschen. Lebendige und vielfältige Gewässer sorgen für sauberes Trinkwasser, schützen vor Hochwasser und sind wertvolle Erlebnis- und Erholungsräume.

GIB UNS DEINE STIMME!

Auch in den Fliessgewässern deines Kantons gibt es Hindernisse, die wir nicht mehr benötigen. Mit deiner Hilfe setzen wir uns bei der Kantonsregierung für deren Rückbau ein. Nase, Lachs und Co. werden es dir danken!

Über Uns

Damit wir uns auch in Zukunft über lebendige Bäche, Flüsse und Seen in der Schweiz freuen können, widmet sich Aqua Viva ausschliesslich dem Thema Wasser. Seit 60 Jahren fliessen sämtliche Ressourcen in den Schutz und die Revitalisierung der heimischen Gewässerlebensräume.

Mit unseren Partnern haben wir im Projekt Fluss frei! bereits viele unnötige Hindernisse in den Fliessgewässern der Kantone Zürich und Aargau identifiziert. Einzelne werden wir im Rahmen des Projekts entfernen. Die Verantwortung für deren Rückbau liegt jedoch bei den Kantonen und Gemeinden. An diese geben wir unsere Erfahrungen und unser Wissen weiter. Es liegt dann in ihrer Hand, ob unsere Fliessgewässer wieder zu attraktiven Lebensräumen für Nase, Lachs und Co. werden.

PROJEKTPARTNER

KONTAKT

Christian Hossli
Projektleiter Fluss frei!
christian.hossli@aquaviva.ch
+41 (0)52 625 26 67

FOLGE UNS AUF SOCIAL MEDIA!


© 2019 Fluss frei!

Diese Microsite gehört zum Projekt Fluss frei! von Aqua Viva. Impressum